FEAGA Awards 2014 to Gisela Capitain and Jocelyn Wolff

Visible  Invisible

The European Gallery Award, founded by the Federation of European Art Galleries Association (F.E.A.G.A.), was created to make the work, effort and dedication of galleries and their importance for art more visible and valued.
The ceremony took place for the tenth time at Art Basel, with the special cooperation of Marc Spiegler, director of ART BASEL. T
he price was presented by the president of the FEAGA Award Committee Ernst Hilger. 

The Lifetime Award went to MRS. Gisela Capitain of  Galerie Gisela Capitain in Cologne (Germany), in great respect for her lifetime achievement and for her creating in 1986 and running an exemplary gallery of high standing.  From the first moment in the spirit of the iconic Martin Kippenberger, the artist always occupies the central place in her gallery.  She joins a remarkable list of outstanding winners, namely Ernst Beyeler, Denise René, the late Annely Juda, Hans Mayer, Soledad Lorenzo, Kaj Forsblum,  Helène de Franchis (Studio La Città), Ursula Krinzinger and Leslie Waddington.

The Award for Creativity and New Inspiration goes to Mr. Jocelyn Wolff from Galerie Jocelyn Wolff in Paris (France).  He is a remarkable gallerist and a model in defending his profession as a member of the Art Galleries Committee and a member of Galeries Mode d’Emploi.

Award winners for creativity and new inspiration have been: Galerie Esther Schipper, Ellen de Bruijne Projects, Zeno X gallery, Layr/Wüstenhagen, Galerie BQ, V1 gallery, Freymund-Guth Fine Arts, Ani Molnar Gallery.

The Awards: The diptych visible invisible was created by sculptor Leo Zogmayer (Austria), depicting the visible and invisible effort that goes into being a dedicated gallery.

The FEAGA Award Committee: Ernst Hilger, president, David Juda, Klaus Gerrit Friese, Victor Gisler and Adriaan Raemdonck (president of the FEAGA)

Read the introduction for Gisela Capitain held by Silvie Liska, president of the Friends of the Secession


Comments are closed.