2019 Galerie Nordenhake, Germany/Sweden/Mexico Rodeo Gallery, Great Britain

2018 Annemarie and Gianfranco Verna Galerie, Switzerland Gallery Sofie Van de Velde, Belgium

2017 Galerie Nächst St. Stephan, Austria Galleria Massimo Minini, Italy

2016 Galerie Klüser, Germany Temnikova & Kasela Gallery, Estonia

2015 Galerie Fons Welters, The Netherlands KOW, Germany

2014 Galerie Gisela Capitain, Germany Galerie Jocelyn Wolff, France

2013 Leslie Waddington, Great Britain Ani Molnár Gallery, Hungary

2012 Galerie Krinzinger, Austria Freymond-Guth Fine Arts, Switzerland

2011 Studio La Città, Italy

2010 Galerie Kaj Forsblom, Finland V1 Gallery, Denmark

2009 Galeria Soledad Lorenzo, Spain Galerie BQ, Germany

2008 Galerie Hans Mayer, Germany Layr/Wüstenhagen, Austria

2007 Annely Juda Fine Art, Great Britain Zeno X Gallery, Belgium

2006 Galerie Denise René, France Ellen de Bruijne Projects, The Netherlands

2005 Ernst Beyeler, Switzerland Galerie Esther Schipper, Germany

2020 / 2021

Galerie Lelong, France/USA

Galerie Plan B, Romania/Germany

Award 2021

INFORMATION the FEAGA AWARDS 2021 were given at ART BASEL before the opening on Wednesday September 22nd 2021, 10 am. The European Gallery Award was created by the Federation of European Art Galeries Associations (FEAGA) to highlight the importance of galleries and to honour galleries that are an example in their efforts to support artists and make their work visible. Ernst Hilger, President of the Jury will present the two FEAGA Awards this year to: Galerie Lelong, Jean Frémon and to Plan B, Mihai Pop and Mihaela Lutea. The Lifetime Achievement Award goes to Jean Frémon of Galerie Lelong (Paris/New York). The Innovation and Creativity Award goes to Galeria Plan B (Cluj/Berlin). Galerie Lelong & Co. In 1973, Jean Frémon, then a young writer, joined Galerie Maeght in Paris. In 1981, Galerie Lelong was founded by Jacques Dupin, Daniel Lelong and Jean Frémon as equal partners, in order to take over Galerie Maeght at the same location, 13 rue de Téhéran. In 1985, Jean Frémon opened Galerie Lelong in New York, on 57th street. In 1990, Mary Sabbatino joined the New York branch as Vice President. In 2001, Galerie Lelong New York moved to its present ground floor location in Chelsea. In 2012, Jacques Dupin died and Daniel Lelong retired from the position of Chairman in favor of Jean Frémon. In 2018, Galerie Lelong & Co. has opened an additional space in Paris on Avenue Matignon. With a staff of 30 members, Galerie Lelong has maintained a long and regular relationship with artists and artist’s estates such as : Joan Miró, Francis Bacon, Eduardo Chillida, Antoni Tàpies, Louise Bourgeois, Richard Serra, Robert Ryman, Donald Judd, Pierre Alechinsky, Jannis Kounellis, Konrad Klapheck, Arnulf Rainer, Günther Förg, Sean Scully, Ana Mendieta, Kiki Smith, Nancy Spero, Nalini Malani, David Nash, Barry Flanagan, Barthélémy Toguo, Ursula von Rydinsward, Jaume Plensa, Marc Desgrandchamps, Juan Uslé, Samuel Levi Jones, Fabienne Verdier, Leonardo Drew, Etel Adnan, Jean Dubuffet... Jean Frémon is the author of more than 20 books, including essays on Louise Bourgeois, Robert Ryman, Jannis Kounellis, Antoni Tàpies, David Hockney... Galeria Plan B Plan B opened in 2005 in Cluj, Romania, initiated by Mihai Pop and Adrian Ghenie, and functions as a production and exhibition space for contemporary art.
At the same time, the gallery program is focusing on the research of Romanian art over the last 50 years, by revealing works of remarkable artists without previous international exposure. In 2008 Plan B opened a permanent exhibition space in Berlin and is coordinated ever since by Mihai Pop and Mihaela Lutea. In 2009 Plan B was one of the initiators of the project Fabrica de Pensule / The Paintbrush Factory in Cluj, a collective independent cultural center, converted from the old paintbrush factory. Currently at Plan B Cluj the future program and framework of an art foundation (Fundatia Plan B) are being defined and conceived. The institution will activate in a beautiful late Baroque palace located in the city center that is undertaking renovation and will focus on the research of Romanian art understood in a wider context. Outside the framework of the gallery program, Mihai Pop co-curated several group exhibitions in the context of the Prague Biennale 4, a section of the exhibition Romanian Cultural Resolution at the Spinnerei Leipzig and Club Electroputere Craiova, and Mircea Pinte Collection at the Museum of Art Cluj. In 2007 Plan B was the organizer of the Romanian Pavilion at the 52nd Venice Biennale, curated by Mihnea Mircan and including the artists Victor Man, Cristi Pogacean, Mona Vatamanu & Florin Tudor, Christoph Büchel & Giovanni Carmine.
Mihai Pop was the curator of the Romanian Pavilion at the 56nd Venice Biennale in 2015, artist Adrian Ghenie. For more information about the history of the FEAGA Awards and its previous winners please contact: Karine Verloren van Themaat, secretary FEAGA


The European Gallery Award was created by the Federation of European Art Galleries Associations (F.E.A.G.A.) in 2005 to highlight the importance of galleries and to honour those galleries that exemplify in efforts to support artists and make their work visible. Ernst Hilger has described the motives for the prizes as follows: “In a time where many feel compelled to curate, sell, present, use and market art, few think about the continuous importance of art galleries. No artist or group of artists has reached prominence without being accompanied, represented or supported by a gallery and no major museum or other public art event would be possible without the often unnoticed effort over many years that galleries have put in to their artists’ rise to eminence. If you ask yourself questions about where to find reliable information, where to have a guarantee on quality and provenance, where to find permanent exhibitions of known and unknown artists alike, where is dedication to and expertise on the arts and where is the will to defend artistic integrity and specialisation the answer is always the galleries “. Two prizes have been created: the LIFETIME Award and INNOVATION and CREATIVITY Award. The Lifetime Award honours a lifetime achievement for quality of art presentation and promotion, for supporting other galleries and playing a role model in the community. The Innovation and Creativity Award honours outstanding creativity and innovation - including taking risks and a reputation for exceptional quality. President of the jury is Ernst Hilger and the members are Adriaan Raemdonck, David Juda, Kristian Jarmuschek, Giò Marconi and Victor Gisler.